Time to Rock

IMG_1200

The Experience

A slightly cool breeze brushes my face as the evening sun sets. The energy of people surround me as I waited for the show to begin. It was a Friday evening at my local shopping mall. During the summer months they have free concerts for the community. My husband and I decided we would try something new this week and attend the Fan Halen concert. They are a tribute band to the actual band Van Halen.

IMG_1210

As we arrived for the concert, I was amazed at the sheer number of people that had gathered. It was packed. People brought camping chairs, beach chairs, and blankets to sit on. Others just simply sat on the ground. As for my husband and I we didn’t bring anything to sit on (our first time), however, we were fortunate that a planter seat opened up as we were walking by so we had a lovely, comfortable view.

IMG_1249

When the band started playing, they were able to engage the audience and the excitement grew. Everyone enjoyed listening to favorite Van Halen songs played by Fan Halen. People joined in singing, clapping and even a few people danced through the whole concert.   What a fun time!

IMG_1259

The Thoughts

The band Fan Halen was excellent and I would highly recommend seeing them in concert. They stated that their band was formed because they were all “fans” of Van Halen, thus their name Fan Halen. The songs they chose were enjoyed by everyone and they were “fan”tastic (I couldn’t help that one – ha, ha, ha) with their stage performance.

For me personally, I often see the articles and advertisements for these local, free, tribute band concerts. I’ve never felt drawn to attend one. Now that I have though, I will definitely plan to attend again. The crowd was energetic, the band was talented and best of all, it didn’t cost me a dime.

IMG_1258

It had been a particularly hectic day at work for me and I was very tired. I really just wanted to stay home and relax. I sure was happy I didn’t give into that temptation. After the concert, I felt refreshed. All of the craziness of the work day had been forgotten. It was like having a mini-vacation in my own town.

IMG_1231

The Question

Have you ever thought about attending a tribute band concert in your community or one nearby? I highly recommend it. There are talented musicians eager to share their music with an audience. It supports them and gives a new experience to you. How about it?