Daily Archives: April 23, 2014

Watching the Wild Side

SAM_4220 bird seed bag         The Experience

The Walk Lightly Smile Often journey this week takes us a wee bit to the wild side. Wild birds that is. Better known as neighborhood birds. It’s time to put up a bird feeder. Are you ready?

Many years ago, I won a bird feeder in a raffle at work. I was a bit taken back that SAM_4224 washed feedermy    co-workers won gifts cards to eat at restaurants and for one hour massages, etc., and I won a bird feeder. I was intrigued by it, but it sat in the closet for a very long time.

SAM_4229 feeder with seedsMy mom use to love feeding the birds in her backyard. She would watch how they interacted with each other and then tell me about it as if they were family. After my mom died (I love you mom), I saw the bird feeder in the closet and decided to fill it with seeds and hang it outside in memory of her. I did that for several months then life got busy and I stopped filling it.

Since that time, four years ago, it has hung outside empty, kind of like a restaurant that’s gone out of business. It’s weathered but is still functional.

Cleaning the old bird feeder SAM_4235 filling waterwas the first task. I hosed it down and set it out to dry. (Did you notice the plants in the background? They are from my plant a garden from seeds post).

Anyways, once clean and dry I filled it with wild bird seeds and hung it in my tree. I had a bird bath from my mom so I put that up too. Ta Dah, it’s all set!

SAM_4256 feeder close close up

In the afternoon the birds showed up and began enjoying a meal. I’ve been watching them all week and indeed it has put a smile on my face.

The Thoughts

Feeding the birds was and still is a heartwarming experience for me. It made me think of my dearly loved mom and how she use to care for her neighborhood birds.

SAM_4243 feeder and water set upFor me watching the birds arrive at the bird feeder and interact with each other was fun. It reminded me of the joy you feel watching little kids open their gifts on Christmas morning. You know they are thrilled with the new things they’ve received andSAM_4299 two birds feeding the birds were too.

I can see the bird feeder from my kitchen window. It’s been interesting watching the personalities of the birds. Some share the feeder freely with other birds. Then there are those who want to have it all to themselves. Sounds like some people I have known. How about you?

The QuestionSAM_4302 bird feeding

Does a bird feeder sound fun to you? Will giving food to the wild birdies in your neighborhood warm your heart? Or maybe just sitting outside and watching the birds would expand your journey of moving forward in life? Try it!